Useful “truths”

12 October 2006

There ought to be a name (and probably is) for concepts which it is wise to believe in regardless of their truth. I have two examples immediately to hand.

1.Karma is the notion that life fits what you need to learn. So in the face of any challenge, ask yourself, what am I supposed to learn here?
2.Good always triumphs in the end.

I don’t really believe that there is such a thing as karma. That is, an active principle that so orders the events of one’s life such that it presents the soul (problematic concept in itself) with a lesson by means of which it improves itself. But I do believe that I will be a better and a happier person if I act as if that were true.

I really don’t  believe that Good will always triumph over evil in the end. But I do believe that I will be a better person and a happier, even a saner person if I act as if it were true.

Leave a Reply

